Skip to content

Let us eat cake. Kaela’s Cake!

February 22, 2012

Today is a special day, a day of celebrations. Today, the chickens got extra scraps, strawberry tops and buttermilk batter. Today, the llamas got a little song while they ate (no one told me to be quiet in the barn, so I felt pretty good! Although, I did sing “happy birthday” to a very special child, in French, and she told me it was not as interesting as twinkle twinkle little star…I shall give my accent more flair next year!). Today, we looked around the land and over the farm, and saw that life was teeming, and it was good. And today, we celebrated. I began by baking a cake. Now this cake is not just for anyone (although I would share it with everyone if it were possible to share a cake with the world, especially when it is someone special’s birthday cake). I chose a buttermilk recipe since I was in a buttermilk mood, from a favorite blog, 101cookbooks. I dug out from the freezer some wild black raspberries and tart cherries from this past summer and dimpled the top of the batter with them (and some strawberries for good measure). And then I fought myself not to eat that whole darn cake for breakfast straight out of the oven before I could photograph it for that very special someone. Kaela Glaser of New York City. Little Kaela is big today. Little Kaela is four!!! And so since she cannot celebrate today with her aunt on the farm, her auntie Harrigan will bake her a cake and share it with other friends in need of some celebration in the form of buttermilk and tart cherry and wild black raspberries… She will share it with Rachel and Brian, the new parents of little Jethro Oliver. Today auntie Harrigan met little Jethro for the first time, held his little body warm against hers, and celebrated in her heart. (And she saved a little slice of cake for Farmer Jason, in celebration of Kaela, of Jethro, and of the new spring calves that have just begun to be born in good health on the farm…). Bon Appetit, Kaela! I love you so.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan permalink
    February 23, 2012 12:06 pm

    I am so grateful that little Kaela has aunties– and in this case, an auntie!– who love her so. It fills this father’s heart with joy and gratitude;

  2. February 23, 2012 2:41 pm

    Kaela says, “Dear Auntie Harrigan, I think you are beautiful. Thank you for the note and the present. Your present came today, do I have to wait to open it on Saturday, or can I open it now? I want to open it now because it might be something special. I love you really much. I will see you on Wednesday? When will you come to my house? If you come to my house I will give you something! Love, Kaela”

  3. April 1, 2012 11:37 pm

    loving your blog!! it’s unique

    • May 6, 2012 8:48 am

      Thanks, Rayannsom! It’s wonderful to see yours as well! Thanks for finding me!

Leave a Reply

